Log in


Now in its twelfth year, Class 46 is dedicated to European trade mark law and practice. This weblog is written by a team of enthusiasts who want to spread the word and share their thoughts with others.

Want to receive Class 46 by email?
Click here subscribe for free.

Who we all are...
Anthonia Ghalamkarizadeh
Birgit Clark
Blog Administrator
Christian Tenkhoff
Fidel Porcuna
Gino Van Roeyen
Markku Tuominen
Niamh Hall
Nikos Prentoulis
Stefan Schröter
Tomasz Rychlicki
Yvonne Onomor
WIPO: FerdinandPorsche.com

Ferdinand PorscheThe WIPO arbitration panel has ruled that the domain name ferdinandporsche.com had been registered in bad faith and ordered that the domain be transferred to its legitimate owner, Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Stuttgart, Germany.

The complainant, a company established in 1931 by Ferdinand Porsche, produces sports cars under the PORSCHE brand name. The respondent registered the disputed domain name in 2005 and redirected the traffic to a parking website with pay-per-click advertising. After sending the cease and desist letter to the respondent and receiving no answer the complainant decided to file a complaint before the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center.

William R. Towns, acting as sole panelist, found that the disputed domain name incorporated PORSCHE mark in its entirety and that it was confusingly similar to the complainant’s trade mark.

The Panel noted that the respondent has not been authorized to use the complainant’s mark or to appropriate the mark for use with domain names and did not demonstrate any legitimate interests in the disputed domain name nor any established rights. It was also proved that the respondent had engaged in a pattern of conduct involving abusive domain name registration which in consequnce led to the bad faith

"to profit from and exploit the Complainant’s mark by diverting Internet traffic to the Respondent’s website to generate advertising revenue".
Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG v. Web Services Pty, Case No. D2008-0620 of 16 June 2008.

Posted by: Tomasz Rychlicki @ 10.44
Tags: Bad faith, Famous marks, WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,
Sharing on Social Media? Use the link below...
Perm-A-Link: https://www.marques.org/blogs/class46?XID=BHA439
Reader Comments: 0
Post a Comment

MARQUES does not guarantee the accuracy of the information in this blog. The views are those of the individual contributors and do not necessarily reflect those of MARQUES. Seek professional advice before action on any information included here.

The Class 46 Archive








+44 (0)116 2747355
+44 (0)116 2747365

Unit Q, Troon Way Business Centre
Humberstone Lane, Leicester


Ingrid de Groot
Internal Relations Officer
Alessandra Romeo
External Relations Officer
James Nurton
Newsletter Editor
Robert Harrison

Signup for our blogs.
Headlines delivered to your inbox