Login | Join Us | Contact Us | Search


  Switzerland: top ten trade mark agents over the last ten years...      Master: On fizzy drinks, trade marks, behavioural economics and the principle of territoriality ...      Moldovan National IP Office to take over police powers ...      Representation of new types of trade marks...      MARQUES disappointed by Red Bull decision...      A canter through UK trade mark cases...      Update on the fate of laudatory signs before the General Court...      BIP Asia Forum: special offer for MARQUES members...      Top Finnish Court rules on bad faith as an absolute ground for refusal...      2018 version of the eleventh edition of the Nice Classification...     
  About Us   Press         Conferences   Members   Teams       Publications   Class 46     Position Papers   FAQs        Links     
Education Team
 Lewis Gaze Award
 Overview  Members  Join the Team  Publications

Lewis Gaze Memorial Scholarship


Established in 1997 as a fitting memorial to the first Chairman and president of MARQUES, the Lewis Gaze Memorial Scholarship seeks to identify and recognise academic achievement in the field of intellectual property law with special reference to trade marks and brand management.

Entries are invited from students following appropriate undergraduate or postgraduate courses in a recognised College or University nominated by the MARQUES Council of the country in which the Annual Conference is to be held.

Following acceptance of the nomination by the Head of the Faculty at the academic institution concerned, invitations are extended by them to up to 20 students to submit entries in the form of extended essays/dissertations of not less the 10,000 words.

Initial assessment of all entries received is conducted by the academic institution concerned. All entries, together with recommendations for the award of three Scholarships, are then submitted to the MARQUES Council.

Following moderation of the entries and consideration of the recommendations of the institution, the MARQUES Council decides the names of the recipients of the three prizes.

All entrants are invited, as guests of MARQUES, to attend the full professional programme of the current year's Annual Conference. The presentation of Award takes place in front of the international gathering of Conference delegates during the course of the programme.

2010 Winner
  Miss Frauke Asendorf
"A piece of (the) cake - Damages for proprietor and licensee due to infringements of community trademarks"


Terms of Use: The material included on this site is provided for information purposes only, and we make no representations or warranties as to its accuracy. It does not represent legal advice. Before relying on this material, you should take care to verify its accuracy, taking professional advice as appropriate. [Please click here for the full Terms and Conditions of Use]

Copyright 2008-2017 MARQUES Ltd and Individual Contributors