Login | Join Us | Contact Us | Search
 
 
 

 
 
  About Us   Press         Conferences   Members   Teams       Publications   Class 46     Position Papers   FAQs        Links     

Class 46 - for your European trade mark news
 

Now in its sixth year, Class 46  is dedicated to European trade mark law and practice.  This weblog is written by a team of enthusiasts who want to spread the word and share their thoughts with others.
 
  TUESDAY, 21 SEPTEMBER 2010
Are you on facebok?

In a rather straightforward case (No. D2010-1247), decided before WIPO’s administrative panel, Facebook Inc. succeded in having the domain name <facebok.com> transferred to them. The domain name was initially registered by Mr Bauer of Germany on April 2009. According to the decision, as of July 27, 2010, the disputed domain name re-directed visitors to “http://freebiesfrog.com”, a site that recreated a similar look and feel to the Facebook website. Users were invited to complete surveys about their online experience with the promise of receiving a free (and fairly expensive) gift. Users were then redirected to a new website where they must sign up for a credit card or other type of consumer loan in order to qualify for the gift. The decision includes a summary of Facebook’s story, recognition of the world-wide reputation of the Facebook mark and very useful citations of relevant WIPO decisions.

 

On the issue of confusing similarity Jon Lang, the sole panelist,  cited Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Richard MacLeod d/b/a For sale, WIPO Case No. D2000-0662 where it was held  that “…In other words, the issue under the first factor is not whether the domain name causes confusion as to source (a factor more appropriately considered in connection with the legitimacy of interest and bad faith factors), but instead whether the mark and domain name, when directly compared, have confusing similarity.” Moving on to the analysis on the respondent’s rights or legitimate interests, the sole panelist held that “legitimate interests cannot be created where the registrant would not choose the domain name in question unless it were for the purposes of capitalising on Internet users making typographical errors when searching for a website that has nothing at all to do with the registrant. Re-directing Internet users to a website they have no wish to visit because they mistype and happen to stumble upon a domain name intended to be confusingly similar to the trademark of the entity the user hopes to find on the Internet, can hardly be said to be a bona fide use of the domain name. Moreover, given the use to which the Domain Name has been put, it can hardly be said that there is any legitimate non-commercial or fair use.The Respondent has no known connection or affiliation with the Complainant, or its trademark. In fact, there is no evidence at all before this Panel that the Respondent has any rights or legitimate interests in the Domain Name. Nor is there any evidence before this Panel to contradict or challenge the contentions of the Complainant. In all the circumstances therefore, this Panel finds that the Complainant has made out a prima facie case that the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in the Domain Name and accordingly finds that this element too of paragraph 4(a) of the Policy is established.”

The typosquatting element was also employed to decide bad faith. The sole panelist cited Wachovia Corporation v. Peter Carrington, WIPO Case No. D2002-0775 “ ‘Respondent’s practice of using the domain names for the purpose of diverting users to an unrelated Internet site is "classic bad faith.", as well as Backstreet Prods., Inc. v. Zuccarini, WIPO Case No. D2001-0654 and AltaVista Co. v. Yomtobian, WIPO Case No. D2000-0937 to find that misspellings alone are sufficient to prove bad faith under paragraph 4(b)(iv) of the Policy.

It is interesting to note how the disputed name appears to have been brought to Facebook’s attention (also) by its users. A good deal of relevant comments of indeed confused Facebook users appear at the Facebook Help Center here and seem genuine enough.

 


Posted by: Nikos Prentoulis @ 14.34 
Tags: WIPO, domain names, facebook, facebok,,

 

   0 comments:    Post a comment

 
 

Search Class 46
Search:

Who we all are...

Birgit Clark
Edith Van den Eede
Fidel Porcuna
Frédéric Glaize
Gino Van Roeyen
Jeremy Phillips
Kathrin Vowinckel
Laetitia Lagarde
Mark Schweizer
Markku Tuominen
Niamh Hall
Nikos Prentoulis
Pedro Malaquias
Robert Börner
Tomasz Rychlicki

Receive Class 46 by email
3356 readers now receive the Class 46 weblog by email circular. Why don't you?

To subscribe, just type your email address in the box below, then click the 'Subscribe' button.
email:

Receive Class 46 by RSS Feed
523 readers now receive the Class 46 weblog via an RSS reader.

Subscribe in a reader


The Class 46 archive


+ 2013
+ 2012
+ 2011
- 2010
     + December (50)
     + November (47)
     + October (40)
     - September (46)
New President for OHIM
Greece - Telecoms keep the Communication Review Board busy
Spain - Damages and trade mark infringement actions: when (and how) to start shooting.
Dutch VPRO television programme Goudzoekers digs into fake trade mark bags
General Court: your lines are pretty, not distinctive
Adam Opel ruling, Golden Balls oppositon now reported
"Nice" news from Serbia
Poland: the differences between trade mark invalidation and the cancellation of the decision
Golf and IP... all roads lead to Newport
A shampoo with a bubble: champagne?
Easydate not so easy?
Viacom to applicant: Ya not gonna pimp yo' DJ, bro
CTM statistics on Slovenia
New Irish rules and application form in effect from 4 October
Are you on facebok?
Brussels approves more GI grants, amendments
Switzerland: use of an image of a fruit on artificially flavoured syrup not misleading
Did you say SORVIR -- or NORVIR?
Switzerland: Red Bull slays Dancing Bull
Poland: the Supreme Court speaks on copyrights and trade marks
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.7
Meeting of the Class 46 team and friends in Berlin
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.6
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.5
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.4
If you're in Berlin today ...
Two more cheeses gain GI protection
Kosovo passes new trade mark, design laws
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.3
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.2
MARQUES RELOADED: Berlin brief no.1
WIPO paper reviews European case law, demystifies internet TM issues
AG supports AB InBev's case in BUD appeal
Poland: informational internationalism
MARQUES Berlin 2010: Meet the Bloggers
A cold confusion and dilution shower for grohekranenshop.nl
Poland: the average consumers' confusion
Spain: Hints on how to calculate the “reasonable royalty” in trade mark infringement cases.
General Court gives applicant the blues
ICEBERG sinks ICEBREAKER: conceptual similarity "not decisive" whether visual and aural similarity exist
Poland: similarity of signs, homogenity of goods
Poland: whose treasure is it?
Berlin Appeals Court backs ‘Parmesan’ label as purely Italian and upholds case against German Parmesan copycats.
Poland: act carefully when requesting preliminary injunction
Octopus Paul (trade marks) - alive and kicking
No confusion without similarity of marks, as CK appeal fails again
     + August (30)
     + July (55)
     + June (40)
     + May (33)
     + April (42)
     + March (62)
     + February (44)
     + January (36)
+ 2009
+ 2008
+ 2007

 
 

Terms of Use: The material included on this site is provided for information purposes only, and we make no representations or warranties as to its accuracy. It does not represent legal advice. Before relying on this material, you should take care to verify its accuracy, taking professional advice as appropriate. [Please click here for the full Terms and Conditions of Use]

Copyright ©2008-2013 MARQUES Ltd and Individual Contributors