Login | Join Us | Contact Us | Search
 
 
 

 
 
  About Us   Press         Conferences   Members   Teams       Publications   Class 46     Position Papers   FAQs        Links     

Class 46 - for your European trade mark news
 

Now in its sixth year, Class 46  is dedicated to European trade mark law and practice.  This weblog is written by a team of enthusiasts who want to spread the word and share their thoughts with others.
 
  WEDNESDAY, 10 DECEMBER 2008
Inpi.com served to the French Trade Mark Office

Everyone knows that INPI is the acronym for Institut National de la Propriété Industrielle. At least domainers do.

This is one of the reasons why in a UDRP decision issued 27 November 2008 (case D2008-1536), the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center' appointed panelist ordered the transfer of the domain name inpi.com to the French Trade Mark Office.

The respondent was indeed a domainer (owning a gargantuan portfolio of more than 35.000 domain names) who had "previously been involved in many domain cases where the transfer of domain names to the respective complainant was ordered".
As a hors d'oeuvre, in the present case the respondent had also neglegted responding to a cease and desist letter from the Trade Mark Office.

Skewing bad faith clues one after the other, the panelist found that:

"the Complainant has proven that the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name under paragraph 4(a)(ii) of the Policy.

As to bad faith registration, on balance, the Panel finds it more likely than not that the Complainant knew of third parties’ rights in the disputed domain name at the moment of its registration or acquisition:
  • The Complainant has been active in the field of protecting intellectual property in France since its creation in 1951 and is also widely-known internationally because it is involved in the adaptation of international intellectual property law. Given the distinctiveness of the INPI Marks and the high profile of the Complainant and its marks, it is inconceivable that the Respondent registered the disputed domain name without knowledge of the Complainant’s rights in the INPI Marks.

  • This finding is supported by the fact that the Respondent uses the disputed domain name to provide links to third parties’ websites including direct competitors of the Complainant. As the name “INPI” is in itself not descriptive of the Complainant’s services, the Respondent would not have placed related ads on the website without knowledge of the Complainant and its activities. The fact that the Respondent is generating links in the French language even if through an automated process and for users in France suggests that the disputed domain name is used for its trademark value.

  • The Panel is aware that the disputed domain name was first registered in 2000 but in the absence of any explanation by the Respondent finds it likely that it was acquired by the Respondent, a professional domainer, and in any event, most probably with the intention of making money from the likely confusion with third parties’ rights. (...)

  • Finally, even if the Respondent did not specifically know of the Complainant or of its trademark rights when it registered the disputed domain name, the finding of bad faith registration would be confirmed under the specific circumstances of this case by the Respondent’s “wilful blindness”. The Respondent is evidently a professional domainer. Previous panels have found that a sophisticated domainer who regularly registers domain names for use as pay-per-click landing pages cannot be “wilfully blind” to whether a particular domain name may violate trademark rights (...), at least not in cases like the present where the Complainant as trademark owner is internationally known and its rights are revealed as hits on the first page of a Google search. (...)

As to bad faith use, by fully incorporating the INPI Marks into the disputed domain name and by using the website under such domain name as a parking website, providing links to direct competitors of the Complainant, the Respondent was, in all likelihood, trying to divert traffic intended for the Complainant’s website to its own for the purpose of earning click-through revenues from Internet users searching for the Complainant’s website (...)"

Now, while such decision is rich in motivation and should taste creamy for an IP Office's palate, just to add a little note of pepper, we note that INPI is also known in the IP world as the acronym for "Instituto Nacional da Propriedade Industrial". And fort dessert, how about chewing some uspto.com or wipo.com ?

Posted by: Frédéric Glaize @ 18.32 
Tags: Domain name dispute, France, INPI, UDRP, WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,

 

   0 comments:    Post a comment

 
 

Search Class 46
Search:

Who we all are...

Birgit Clark
Edith Van den Eede
Fidel Porcuna
Frédéric Glaize
Gino Van Roeyen
Jeremy Phillips
Kathrin Vowinckel
Laetitia Lagarde
Mark Schweizer
Markku Tuominen
Niamh Hall
Nikos Prentoulis
Pedro Malaquias
Robert Börner
Tomasz Rychlicki

Receive Class 46 by email
3265 readers now receive the Class 46 weblog by email circular. Why don't you?

To subscribe, just type your email address in the box below, then click the 'Subscribe' button.
email:

Receive Class 46 by RSS Feed
515 readers now receive the Class 46 weblog via an RSS reader.

Subscribe in a reader


The Class 46 archive


+ 2013
+ 2012
+ 2011
+ 2010
+ 2009
- 2008
     - December (66)
Belgium: ADR tax to be reimbursed to successful complainants
Latest GI news
What happens to popular words like "focus" ...
RAW: not enough Intel-DNA for G-Star?
Advocate General sees no problem with "Bayerisches Bier" GI
Fee increase
Moldova signs up for Singapore
Cybersquatting can be an expensive exercise (if they find you)
Czech Arbitration Court: pilot programme for new UDRP service
Conviction in Danish ‘Winnie the Pooh’ case
The ineffaceableness of a trade mark
Interbrand study: Italy's 10 Most Valuable Global Brands
UK: Latest issue of IPInsight
Chocolate bearing counterfeit trade mark seized
Bending territoriality for fame: A US perspective
OHIM: December issue of 'Alicante News' now published
Applications for GI status
Poland: cross-border reputation
Poland: sweet are lips and kids
Assigning a mark without the business: a question of deception?
Poland: Sharp v. Sharp
Taxi!
New Danish legislation enforces higher penalties for counterfeiting
Change of address for Class 46
Spain - The Spanish Community Trade Mark Court grants interim relief on the basis of 3-D mark.
OHIM: four offices opt out of the national searches system
Finland: Changes to trade mark fees
Bleu d'Avergne PDO amended
Russia: Confusion over emoticon trade mark application
Ad-acadabra: the Dutch Supreme Court's questions in the Primakabin/Portakabin's case
France: modifications of the IP Code
More GI news
Community Trade Mark fee reduction: 40% or 50% ?
Olympic Casino's trade mark gamble fails
And yellow were the pages...
EU Commission proposes to "halve the costs for an EU trade mark"
Poland: Marqa 2008
Battle of the Strads Revisited
Inpi.com served to the French Trade Mark Office
Austria: "Styriagra" v "Viagra"
Coke Cola gets ultimatum: "change name, or else ..."
ECJ rules on genuine use in Austrian charity reference
This is a man's men's body shop
Spain - The Spanish Trade Marks Office receives the "Highly Commended" distinction by the Global Anti Counterfeiting Group.
Recent publications
Poland: reminiscences on LEGO's problems
'V' for Armani in Dutch sunglasses case
Solex: an e-conic French trademark
CFI: BECKER v Barbara Becker
Poseidon vs common sense
OHIM: Changes to "The Manual of Trade Mark Practice"
Hungary gears up for Olympic symbol protection
Croatia makes it simple
Germany: Polar bear Knut and the "big credit freeze"
Poland: special law for Euro 2012 trade marks?
MARQUES members, take note!
Che Guevara's portrait : an icon, not a trade mark
Wow it's sticky: it's MTV's Sticky Brand Award 2008
Germany: Michael "Bully" Herbig v "Bully - die Ehrenrunde" - the Munich Court has decided
Intel v CPM: the rapid response seminar
UK: Tribunal Practice Notice TPN 6/2008
Bundesgerichtshof: Lefax/Lefaxin decision
Poland: reminiscences on "i Intel"
Blue Chocolate
Rapid Response Seminar: new venue
More Community trade mark decisions from the CFI
     + November (60)
     + October (72)
     + September (86)
     + August (48)
     + July (57)
     + June (64)
     + May (68)
     + April (72)
     + March (77)
     + February (100)
     + January (100)
+ 2007

 
 

Terms of Use: The material included on this site is provided for information purposes only, and we make no representations or warranties as to its accuracy. It does not represent legal advice. Before relying on this material, you should take care to verify its accuracy, taking professional advice as appropriate. [Please click here for the full Terms and Conditions of Use]

Copyright ©2008-2013 MARQUES Ltd and Individual Contributors