Login | Join Us | Contact Us | Search
 
 
 

 
 
  About Us   Press         Conferences   Members   Teams       Publications   Class 46     Position Papers   FAQs        Links     

Class 46 - for your European trade mark news
 

Now in its sixth year, Class 46  is dedicated to European trade mark law and practice.  This weblog is written by a team of enthusiasts who want to spread the word and share their thoughts with others.
 
  SATURDAY, 21 JUNE 2008
WIPO: Yell Limited v. Yell.travel

The WIPO arbitration panel has ruled that the domain name "Yell.travel" had been used and registered in bad faith and ordered that the domain be transferred to its legitimate owner, Yell Limited.

The Complainant in the proceedings, Yell Limited, operates an international directories business in the classified advertising market through printed, online and phone media in the UK and the U.S. and in the UK operates an online directory via its website “www.yell.com”. The Complainant further owns UK and Community Trade Mark registrations for the for the word “YELL”, which have been registered since 1997 and 2000 respectively. The Respondent, Yell.travel, based in Vitry Sur Seine, France obtained registration of the disputed domain name "Yell.travel" by way of transfer from Mr. Rob Stein in April 2008.

John Swinson, acting as sole panelist, found that the disputed domain name was confusingly similar to the Complainant’s trade mark as required by paragraph 4(a)(i) of the Policy. He further found that the Complainant made out an initial prima facie case that the Respondent lacks rights or interests in the disputed domain name. The disputed domain name currently redirects users to a website “www.yellowpages.fr”, which provides online business directory services that are similar to those provided by the Complainant, however the website has no apparent connection with the Complainant. On the point of "bad faith" the sole Panelist ruled that

"... [registration of the domain] in bad faith must occur at the time the current registrant took possession of the domain name (see paragraph 3.7 of the WIPO Overview of WIPO Panel Views on Selected UDRP Questions). The Respondent is not the original registrant of the disputed domain name."
The Panelist then referred to previous decisions of the WIPO body, where it been established that
"... the acquisition of a domain name from a previous registrant constitutes registration within the meaning of the Policy (see for example MC Enterprises v. Mark Segal (Namegiant.com), WIPO Case No. D2005-1270; Société Air France v. Vladimir Federov, WIPO Case No. D2003-0639, Laure Pester (Lorie) and Sony Music Entertainment France SA v. Movie Name, WIPO Case No. D2003-0312; see also paragraph 3.7 of the WIPO Overview of WIPO Panel Views on Selected UDRP Questions). For the purposes of this decision, the date of registration is considered to be the date the disputed domain name was transferred to the Respondent."
In its decision the Panelist further stressed that it was not limited to the application of the circumstances of paragraph 4(b) of the Policy, which sets out a non-exclusive list of factors evidencing bad faith and as such, paragraph 4(b) allowed for the development of further factors. Based on the overall facts of the case - i.e. the original yell.travel website had included the statement “For over 100 years businesses and consumers alike have known and trusted the YellowPages for providing quality business directories. Now, we offer comparison travel services backed by a name you can trust" - the sole Panelist come to the conclusion that
"... the disputed domain name was being used to attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to a website that the Respondent had an interest in by creating a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant’s mark as to the source, sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement of the Respondent’s website."
Looking at the purpose of the Policy it was held that it was the
"...overriding objective of the Policy ... to curb the abusive registration of domain names in circumstances where the registrant is seeking to profit from and exploit the trademarks of another. ... The evidence ... supports the conclusion that the Respondent sought to profit from, or exploit the trademarks of the Complainant. Accordingly, the Panel concludes that the Complainant has satisfied its burden of showing bad faith registration and use of the disputed domain name under paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy."
For all the above reasons and in accordance with Paragraphs 4(i) of the Policy and 15 of the Rules, the Panelist ordered that the domain name "yell.travel" had to be transferred to the Complainant. Finally, the Panelist stressed that he had not assessed whether the Complainant would satisfy the eligibility required for registering and using a .travel TLD. as this was a decision the .travel Registry Operator had to take.

Case reference: Yell Limited v. Yell.travel, Case No. D2008-0586 of 12 June 2008

Class 46: the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy can be found here.

Posted by: Birgit Clark @ 22.18 
Tags: Domain names, WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center,

 

   0 comments:    Post a comment

 
 

Search Class 46
Search:

Who we all are...

Birgit Clark
Edith Van den Eede
Fidel Porcuna
Frédéric Glaize
Gino Van Roeyen
Jeremy Phillips
Kathrin Vowinckel
Laetitia Lagarde
Mark Schweizer
Markku Tuominen
Niamh Hall
Nikos Prentoulis
Pedro Malaquias
Robert Börner
Tomasz Rychlicki

Receive Class 46 by email
3257 readers now receive the Class 46 weblog by email circular. Why don't you?

To subscribe, just type your email address in the box below, then click the 'Subscribe' button.
email:

Receive Class 46 by RSS Feed
519 readers now receive the Class 46 weblog via an RSS reader.

Subscribe in a reader


The Class 46 archive


+ 2013
+ 2012
+ 2011
+ 2010
+ 2009
- 2008
     + December (66)
     + November (60)
     + October (72)
     + September (86)
     + August (48)
     + July (57)
     - June (64)
Illegal incentives
France: eBay heavily condemned
Spain – The Spanish Supreme Court rejects the registration of “BANK ON LINE” (plus device) for class 36.
Singapore: yes for Denmark, but not yet for Greenland and Faroes
Erdgas, Ergas similar, despite conceptual differences
Botox escapes 'genericity' trap
Trade marks protected against silent freedom of speech
Sweden Annual report for 2007
New online guide to trade mark cancellations
Switzerland: New Provisions on Counterfeit and Pirated Goods
ICANN approves rules for new TLDs
Sunrise over the Netherlands this September
ECJ and dilution: the Advocate General advises in Intel v CPM
Polar and Polaris held insufficiently similar to confuse discerning consumers
OHIM – measuring success.
Video tour of OHIM's new website
L'Altra and Alba -- marks of a different mode
ZIPCAR, CICAR and conceptual distinctions
German Federal Patent Court: Insolvency of the trade mark proprietor and trade mark renewal fees
Google abandons "Gmail" in Germany
German Federal Patent Court: "MEN/MISS"
WIPO: FerdinandPorsche.com
FIAT will not step back
Rectified reclaimed
Massive reputation of SPA in Benelux blocks MINERAL SPA CTM
Latest ETMR
WIPO: Yell Limited v. Yell.travel
Next week in the ECJ
Recent rational ruling
Polish PDO's problems
How NOT to advertise drugs in Poland
Wines are different, CFI tells Coke
No similarity, no detriment
European Union flag gets Art 6ter protection in Lithuania
Latest Alicante News now published
The Hungarian Patent Office's annual report for 2007 available for download
No return for appellant in Boomerang appeal
UKIPO: Save functionality on the on-line Form TM3
Marketing: is now the time to spend on packaging, not advertising?
WIPO: Iceland designations - new fees from 19 July 2008
Germany: Trade Mark dispute over name of a brothel
Kosovo -- more time to file those revalidations
Reclaim the windows
Sports sponsorship can be bad news for brand owners
SOFT BLUE appeal fails
Lego argues its case before the CFI
ECJ rules in 'bubbles' case
CFI can't rectify an implicit decision
Volailles de Loué PGI spec amended
Spain – when is the applicant acting in bad faith when filing an application for a trade mark?
Korean GIs come to Europe -- and you have two months in which to comment
Tuesday Trade Mark Treats: EURO 2008
A new OHIM web site on 1 July 2008
FANTASTIKA not likely to be confused with FANTA
ECJ forthcoming attractions
The saga of the SAGA
Savile Row Bespoke
UK: Revised Magistrates’ Court Sentencing Guidelines with specific guideline for trade mark offences
Working Group proposes replacement of "tacit acceptance" regime
Global branding for a family-owned cult wine: can it be done?
Casatella Trevigiana gains PDO status
Bundesgerichtshof: "THE HOME STORE"
Spanish government to invest in “Made in Spain”.
New geographical indications registered
     + May (68)
     + April (72)
     + March (77)
     + February (100)
     + January (100)
+ 2007

 
 

Terms of Use: The material included on this site is provided for information purposes only, and we make no representations or warranties as to its accuracy. It does not represent legal advice. Before relying on this material, you should take care to verify its accuracy, taking professional advice as appropriate. [Please click here for the full Terms and Conditions of Use]

Copyright ©2008-2013 MARQUES Ltd and Individual Contributors